Album Review: Mø – No Mythologies To Follow

She’s been dubbed the next big thing in 2014. And I truly do love Danish Mø and her single XXX 88, which is an excellent mysterious pop track.

When the debut album, No Mythologies To Follow, arrived earlier this week, I had my hopes high. I’d read tons about Mø and how great she was, and based on the single I truly wanted her to be great.

And she is, no doubt about it. It’s a fresh album, something new, but it’s just not me. I had the same high hopes when Tove Styrke was dubbed the artist to keep an eye out for in 2011 by the New York Times, and in that situation I wasn’t disappointed. Tove is a lot more creative drumpop with heavier beats, although both artists share a love for the slower, darker side of an otherwise cheerful pop culture.

The problem is, none of the tracks – except maybe the second single Don’t Wanna Dance, is as great as XXX 88, which is essentially the track that caused all the hype in the first place.

In short, I can’t blame Mø for anything. It’s a great production. But it lacks substance and fails to live up to the hype. A bit like Keshas crappy second album, although that’s a very unfair comparison to Mø.

I’ve been deciding between a 3 and a 4. A 3 would push Mø aside as an average popstar – which clearly, she’s not if you believe all the hype – while a 4 would mean that I value her higher than I actually do. Her two first singles are brilliant, the rest is not. It was a tough call.

Rating: 3,4/5.

About Johan Dahlberg (38 Articles)
Former journalist, avid traveler and hobby photographer.

Leave a comment